A Frazzled Mum’s Post About Behrouz Boochani

Today’s post is obviously not about parenting. I’m still so happy after reading the news that Kurdish-Iranian journalist and award-winning writer have arrived in New Zealand after enduring six months of immigration detention in Manus Island and Port Moresby.

He’s not the first to be free, and there’s still plenty who are left behind. Abdul Aziz Adam or some might know him more as Abdul Aziz Muhamet found asylum in Swizerland. There are plenty who were resettled in the United States. However, there are also some who are still detained in horrendous conditions in Bomana Prison.

Behrouz, in particular, is someone I admire because of his brain that is rich in knowledge, his incredible talent in writing and his ability to survive six years of forced exile. Still bestoed his wisdom to the world outside via Skype, still worked as a journalist in detention – as he felt that it was his duty in life.

I just hope he knows that there are so many of us here in Australia who disagreed to offshore processing, and that it is our loss when New Zealand accepted him with open arms. We could have had him as a massive contributor to our society. After all, he is already an Associate Professor in UNSW!

I hope he is enjoying his freedom (which.. I am sure he is!), and I hope he can pick up where he left, and move on stronger.

1 comments

  1. Thank you very much for this post, very insightful! I have only recently discovered and learnt about the story of Boochani but I find it immensely challenging. I have published an article on my blog about what I think we can learn from his story. It would be great if you could check it out and let me know your thoughts! Thanks 🙂

    Like

Leave a comment